Covered Conditions

Under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), there are 13 categories under which a student is eligible to receive the protections and services promised by this law. In our disability profiles, we define each disability as specified by IDEA and explain it in plain English; these profiles also outline the common traits and educational challenges associated with each disability, and provide tips for parents and teachers.

Emotional Disturbance
Hearing Impairment
Intellectual Disability
Multiple Disabilities
Orthopedic Impairment
Other Health Impairments
Specific Learning Disability
Speech or Language Impairment
Traumatic Brain Injury
Visual Impairment


Skip to toolbar